You’ll get the most from this course by working through it alongside someone else. Throughout this workbook, we refer to that person as either your ‘twin’ or ‘buddy’.

We expect you and your twin may have different thoughts and opinions, and that’s ok. Here are our guidelines for working together and getting the most out of the program:

  • Make sure that you and your twin understand what all the words and concepts mean. And if in doubt, ask. This is very important to ensure you are on the same page and know what’s being presented and asked.
  • In your interactions, be sure to apply the ten elements of human dignity
  • Your answers can relate to one person, or more than one person.
  • Help your twin to be open and honest. Encourage without judgment.
  • If you see your twin has a thought they are reluctant to share, gently encourage them to open up in the safe space you have created together.’
  • For some of the temptations to violate dignity, there are only three questions

Introducing the Dignity Model

The Dignity Model consists of Ten Essential Elements of Dignity and Ten Temptations to Violate Dignity. In point form, these are as follows

Ten Essential Elements of Dignity

  1. Acceptance of identity
  2. Recognition
  3. Acknowledgement
  4. Inclusion
  5. Safety
  6. Fairness
  7. Independence
  8. Understanding
  9. Benefit of the doubt
  10. Accountability

Ten Temptations to Violate Dignity

  1. Taking the bait
  2. Saving face
  3. Shirking responsibility
  4. Seeking false dignity
  5. Seeking false security
  6. Avoiding conflict
  7. Being the victim
  8. Resisting feedback
  9. Blaming and shaming others to deflect your own guilt
  10. Engaging in false intimacy and demeaning gossip